Share This Article with a Friend!

CAP Leaders: Higher Education Reauthorization Must Treat All Schools & Students Equally

Trump on Campus Free Speech
As Congress and the White House negotiate the details of the reauthorization of the Higher Education Act (HEA), the principled, limited government constitutional conservatives of the Conservative Action Project have released a memo urging congressional Republicans to oppose progressive extremism in higher education and to protect free speech in higher education.

In addition to egregiously expensive and unworkable policies like the Green New Deal and Medicare for All, progressives within Congress like Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) are also proposing free public-school tuition at the community college and university level.

However, “free” is never really free, and this cost would merely be transferred to taxpayers. Moreover, their proposals, while sounding laudable, are costly administrative burdens that target for-profit colleges, while making them less competitive with public institutions.

The HEA reauthorization should also prioritize freedom of speech on campus. In the last two years, there have been nearly 50 attempts to disinvite speakers from college campuses. More than 120 colleges and universities have speech codes that clearly and substantially restrict freedom of speech. Intellectual freedom and the search for truth are paramount on college campuses, and the HEA should contain measures aimed at making sure all speech is treated equally.

This is especially true as an aggressive socialism is finding root in college campuses who receive millions in taxpayer subsidies every year. According to Gallup, close to 51 percent of Americans aged 18-29 have a positive view of socialism, an ideology that has resulted in death and destruction around the globe. They are egged on by ideologues posing as professors, who, in many cases, have been the source of many of the supposedly student-led protests against campus speakers.

With college campuses becoming increasingly intolerant to ideas and debate, it is more important than ever that federal policy allow diversity of views to flourish. As the HEA moves forward, we urge congressional Republicans to stand firm on principles of equal treatment and fairness for all students, and all schools.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio

The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

The Honorable Jim DeMint
Member, South Carolina
United States Senate (2005-2013)

Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
and Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee (2003-2012)

Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute

Thomas Fitton
Judicial Watch, Inc.

The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy

William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.

Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council

David Bozell

Mr. Lou Cordia
Executive Director
President Reagan's Alumni Association

Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)

Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting, Inc.

The Honorable William J. Bennett
Former U.S. Secretary of Education
Department of Education

Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute

Nicholas Logan
Cornerstone Payment Systems

Christopher Malagisi
Executive Director of Outreach
Hillsdale College

Allen J. Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus

C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America

Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Donna Hearne
The Constitutional Coalition

Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group

Eli Lehrer
The R Street Institute

Craig Dance
President / CEO
Champion Coach Inc.

Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications

Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum

Kelly Shackelford
First Liberty Institute

Ron Robinson
Young America's Foundation

Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC

Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy

Sean Noble
American Encore

Susan A. Carleson
American Civil Rights Union

William H. Shaker
CEO and President
Washington Marketing Group

Robert Hilarides
Owner, Hilarides Dairy/Sierra
Cattle/Hilarides Transportation

Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

The Honorable Belden Bell
Co-Chair Legacy Society
The Heritage Foundation

Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith

Melvin Adams
Past President

The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director
President Ronald Reagan

Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group

The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House

Don Woodsmall

E.W. Jackson Sr.
STAND Foundation, Inc.

Ralph A. Rebandt, II
Lead Pastor
Oakland Hills Community Church

Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO

Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute

Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values

Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund

Barry Meguiar
Revival Outside the Walls

Erin Mitchell
Executive Assistant
American Target Advertising

Kathleen Patten
President and CEO
American Target Advertising

Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor

Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values

Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.

Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation

Nicholas Stehle
Campaign for the American Future

Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain,
National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives

Ralph Benko
Political Columnist

Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan's Chief Defense and Space Negotiator, Former SDI Director

Martha Boneta
Vote America First

The Honorable Gerard Kassar
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party

The Honorable James J. Carey
National Chairman
The Flag & General Officers' Network

Nancy Schulze
Women Impacting America

Dr. Peter Wood
National Association of Scholars

The Honorable Morton Blackwell
Leadership Institute

Bailey Amaral
Program Director
The Windrose Project, Inc.

Melissa Ortiz
Conservative Activist
Former Public School Teacher

Share this