Share This Article with a Friend!

Conservatives Applaud President Trump’s Proposed Spending Cuts

FY 2020 budget
Conservatives commend President Trump for including trillions of dollars in taxpayer savings and reforms in his budget. President Trump has offered a budgetary framework that would continue the economic success of his first term that is decreasing government dependence throughout America and resulting in record-low unemployment levels.

Although the 2020 budget calls for a record $4.6 trillion in deficit reductions, we know there is more government fat to cut so that fiscal discipline is restored in government. By proposing work requirements on anti-poverty welfare benefit programs like food stamps and Medicaid, President Trump’s vision will restore the dignity of work that was shamed by President Obama. We call on Congress to enact these commonsense policies that expand economic opportunity and self-sufficiency.  

Overall, the President’s budget proposes more taxpayer savings than any other Administration in history. Specifically, the budget helps drain the DC swamp by making historic cuts to non-defense discretionary spending. This includes a 26% cut to EPA, a 21% cut to foreign aid, and eliminates numerous duplicative government agencies. President Trump’s budget also contains a first-of-its-kind section on stopping wasteful and unnecessary spending, including policy proposals to improve payment accuracy and eliminate wasteful spending in mandatory programs.

The budget maintains military readiness and continues to protect Americans with a robust national defense. It funds the continued construction of the border wall, furthers pro-life priorities while seeking to fully defund Planned Parenthood, makes the historic Trump tax cuts permanent, and continues pro-growth policies that get people off of government dependence.

While President Trump is willing to make tough decisions in his budget, we urge him to prioritize cutting the trillion-dollar deficit in 2020. Congress has embarked on a spending binge and irresponsibility mismanaged the taxpayers’ money. Conservatives vehemently opposed the reckless spending bill in 2019 that blew past budget caps. When Congress writes the spending bills later this year, it should follow President Trump’s lead and make significant spending cuts so that a fiscal crisis is averted.

Conservatives continue to urge President Trump to prioritize fiscal discipline during his presidency, and we call on him to veto any spending bill that does not adhere to the spending levels of his budget.

(Titles and affiliations for identification purposes only.)

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)

Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project &
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute

Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth

Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth

Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment,
Competitive Enterprise Institute

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP

Tom McClusky
March for Life Action

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

The Honorable Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)

Jessica Anderson
Vice President
Heritage Action for America

David Bozell

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.

Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council

Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America

William L. Walton
Council for National Policy

Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council

Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute

Alan E. Sears
Alliance Defending Freedom

David N. Bossie
Citizens United

The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1989

Dr. John C. Eastman
Salvatori Professor, Chapman University Fowler School of Law
Senior Fellow, The Claremont Institute

L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center

Steven J. Buri
Discovery Institute

David Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation

Richard H. Wright

Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group

Dr. Rick Scarborough
Recover America Now

Khadine Ritter
Eagle Forum of Ohio

Richard D. Hayes
Hayes Berry White & Vanzant LLP

Seton Motley
Less Government

Senator Jason Rapert
President, National Association of Christian Lawmakers

The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor

Marc Little
Center for Urban Renewal and Education

William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action

Randy M. Long
Long Business Advisors, LLC

Dr. Allen Unruh
National Abstinence Clearinghouse

The Honorable Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus

The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC

William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group

Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy

Glenn Preston Story
Co-founder & President
Patriot Mobile

Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Rebekah Gantner
Executive Director,
Eagle Forum Education & Legal Defense Fund

Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America

Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values

Jim Martin
60 Plus Association

The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
U.S. House of Representatives

Saul Anuzis
60 Plus Association

Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center

Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC

Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications

Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America

Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston

Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Lewis K. Uhler
Founder and President
National Tax Limitation

Jim Backlin
Vice President of Legislative Affairs
Christian Coalition of America

Sean Noble
American Encore

The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House

Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO

Joseph G Yocca
Executive Director
National Tax Limitation Committee

Kelly Kullberg
Adviser and Spokesperson,
American Association of Evangelicals (AAE)

David Kullberg
Executive Director,
Christians for A Sustainable Economy (CASE)

E.C. Sykes
General Partner
Aslan Ventures

Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute

Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express

Rob Gluskin
Managing Partner
Gluskin Investment Partners

Melissa Kaye Ortiz

Bishop E.W. Jackson Sr.
STAND Foundation, Inc.

Share this