top of page

Conservative Leaders To House GOP: Do Your Duty

Article I, Section 8, Clause 1 of the Constitution vests the "power of the purse" in Congress: “No Money shall be drawn from the Treasury, but in Consequence of Appropriations made by Law . . .” In specifying the activities on which public funds may be spent, Congress

defines the contours of federal power. This requirement of legislative appropriation before public funds are spent is at the foundation of our constitutional order, observed Kate Stith Lafayette S. Foster Professor of Law at Yale Law School.

Prof. Stith further observed that rather than create a power, the Appropriations Clause creates a legislative duty that Congress exercise control and assume responsibility over the federal fisc. Congress’s “power of the purse” is at the foundation of our Constitution’s separation of powers, a constitutionally mandated check on Executive power.

Unfortunately, in the modern era Congress has regularly failed in that duty, choosing to appropriate by self-induced crises of pending government “shutdowns” rather than through the regular order of committee hearings and bills brought to the floor for debate and amendment.

In a recent “Memo for the Movement” the conservative leaders participating in the Conservative Action Project admonished the House Republican leadership to pre-emptively pass a short-term Continuing Resolution to March of 2025. Such a move would avoid the threat of a shutdown which will inevitably result in the middle of the night passage of a bloated omnibus spending bill.


Washington, DC

Conservatives urge the House majority to maximize their leverage in the Fiscal Year 2025 appropriations process, which is already underway.

The fiscal year ends on September 30, 2024. Rather than setting up the possibility of a shutdown at the end of the year, the House should pre-emptively pass a short-term Continuing Resolution to March of 2025. This not only avoids the legislative pile up before November, it removes the possibility of a bloated omnibus spending bill being jammed through the lame duck session. Moreover, it gives the new administration a chance to impose its priorities on a must-pass spending bill early in 2025.

Critically, a CR of this nature must not contain the appropriations side deals like the ones negotiated by former Speaker Kevin McCarthy and Senate Appropriations Chair Patty Murray. Rather, the CR must be tied to the 2025 levels enacted as part of the Fiscal Responsibility Act.

There are very few major legislative items left on Congress’s calendar this year, but appropriations bills are one of them. We implore the House not to waste the opportunity to manage the process in a strategic manner which limits the possibility of a lame duck omnibus, adheres to statutory limits without side deals, and allows a new appropriations process to begin in an orderly manner in 2025.


The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988) 


The Honorable Jim DeMint

Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute

Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)


Kevin Roberts, Ph.D.


The Heritage Foundation


The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell

Chairman, Conservative Action Project

Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.


The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell


The Leadership Institute 


The Honorable Tony Perkins


Family Research Council 


Jenny Beth Martin


Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund


David N. Bossie


Citizens United 


Rebecca Weber

CEO, Association of Mature American Citizens (AMAC) 


Bob Carlstrom


AMAC Action 


The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs, President Ronald Reagan 


L. Brent Bozell III

Founder and President

Media Research Center 


Thomas H. Jones


American Accountability Foundation 


Marty Dannenfelser

Vice President for Government Relations and Coalitions, Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE) 


Lori Roman


ACRU Action Fund 


Terry Schilling


American Principles Project 


The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop

White House Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985) 


Seton Motley


Less Government 


Ron Pearson

Executive Director

Conservative Victory Fund 


Jack Park

Conservative Activist and Donor

Karen England


Capitol Resource Institute


Andrew Roth


State Freedom Caucus Network

John Stemberger


Liberty Counsel Action


Lee Beaman


Beaman Ventures

Kimberly C. Good

President & CIO

KCG Investment

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer


American Values

Robert K. Fischer

Meeting Coordinator

Conservatives of Faith

Christina Murphy, Esq.


The Martin Foundation

Lourdes Cosio

Campaign for the American Future


Shannon O. Royce


Christian Employers Alliance

Kay R. Daly


Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Tim Throckmorton


Lifepointe Ministries

The Honorable Mike Hill

Former Member

Florida State House


The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli II

Sr. Fellow

Center for Renewing America 


Mr. E.C. Sykes

General Partner

Aslan Ventures

The Honorable Peter J. Thomas


The Conservative Caucus

Chris Iacovella

President & CEO

American Securities Association


The Honorable Brooke Rollins

President and CEO

America First Policy Institute (AFPI)


Ed Corrigan

Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project and President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute

Chad Connelly

Founder and President

Faith Wins 


Thomas E. McClusky


Greenlight Strategies, LLC 


William L. Walton

The Bill Walton Show

Resolute Protector Foundation 


Myron Ebell


American Lands Council 


Star Parker

Founder and President, Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE) 


Cleta Mitchell, Esq.

Senior Legal Fellow

Conservative Partnership Institute


Scott T. Parkinson

Vice President for Government Affairs

Club for Growth

Alfred S. Regnery


Republic Book Publishers

Kevin Freeman


NSIC Institute 


Kelly M. Kullberg

General Secretary, American Association of Evangelicals (AAE)


David Kullberg

Executive Director

Christians for A Sound Economy (CASE)

Bishop E.W. Jackson, Sr.

Founder and President

STAND Foundation Inc.

Elaine Donnelly


Center for Military Readiness 


Thomas Pyle


American Energy Alliance 


Kristen A. Ullman


Eagle Forum

Shea Bradley-Farrell, PhD


Counterpoint Institute

Tim Macy


Gun Owners of America

C. Preston Noell III


Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.


Rod D. Martin

Founder and CEO

Martin Capital, Inc.

Guillermo J. Aragon

Chief Strategy Officer

Martin Capital, Inc.

Ambassador Henry F. Cooper

Chief Defense and Space Negotiator, President Ronald Reagan & SDI Director, President George H.W. Bush

Tom DeWeese


American Policy Center

Penna Dexter


Point of View Radio 


Nancy Schulze

National Strategic Advisor

Physicians for Reform 


The Honorable Charles J. Cooper

Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan 1985-1988

Cooper & Kirk PLLC 


The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.

Managing Editor

Mr. Richard D. Hayes

State Representative

State of Texas

RC Williams


Watchmen Action, Inc.

  • Congress

  • power of the purse

  • Constitutional powers

  • GOP leaders

  • legislative appropriations

  • legislative duty

  • Speaker Mike Johnson

  • Mitch McConnell

  • continuing resolutions

  • government shutdowns

  • omnibus spending bills

  • 2024 fiscal year

  • Fiscal Responsibility Act

89 views0 comments


bottom of page