top of page

Conservative Leaders To Senate GOP – Fight To Save The Filibuster

Nearly 100 leaders of the Conservative Movement have come together to urge conservatives

to call the toll-free Capitol Switchboard (1-866-220-0044), to tell Republican Senators they should not ease passage of President Biden’s nominees without, at a minimum, extracting a commitment that the legislative filibuster will remain unmolested. And they should use the levers of the institution to oppose those nominees who are controversial, activist, or otherwise unqualified.

February 16, 2021

Washington, DC

Conservatives urge Senate Republicans to fight President Biden’s controversial and unqualified nominees with the same vigor used by Democrats to oppose all of President Trump’s nominees – including those who were qualified and non-controversial.

During the four years President Trump was in office, Democrats mounted an unprecedented number of filibusters to executive branch and judicial nominations, obstructing confirmation at every opportunity. Moreover, Senate Democrats campaigned on eliminating the legislative filibuster – an option they now refuse to take off the table. Senate Democrats are now openly discussing using dubious budget reconciliation procedures as well.

Even in a 50-50 Senate, Senate Republicans possess substantial leverage. They should not ease passage of President Biden’s nominees without, at a minimum, extracting a commitment that the legislative filibuster will remain unmolested. And they should use the levers of the institution to oppose those nominees who are controversial, activist, or otherwise unqualified.

The Senate operates on leverage and consent. Using that leverage to protect Republican priorities and institutional norms does not constitute “gratuitous” delays.

For four years, Senate Democrats launched an obstructive assault on Trump nominees, and then actively campaigned on upending institutional norms. Senate Republicans should use their own procedural rights to delay confirmations unless and until, at a minimum, Democrat leadership commits to preserving the legislative filibuster.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III

Attorney General

President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)

Alfred S. Regnery

Chairman, Conservative Action Project

President, Republic Book Publishers

The Honorable Jim DeMint

Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute

Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)

The Honorable David McIntosh


Club for Growth

Penny Y. Nance

President & CEO

Concerned Women for America

Jenny Beth Martin


Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund

Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.

Chairman, CNP Action, Inc. & President and CEO, First Liberty Institute

William L. Walton


Council for National Policy

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop

White House Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)

Ed Corrigan

Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project and President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute

Scott T. Parkinson

VP for Government Affairs

Club for Growth

Rachel Bovard

Senior Director of Policy

Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

Daniel Schneider

Executive Director

American Conservative Union

Mary Vought

Executive Director

Senate Conservatives Fund

The Honorable Peter J. Thomas


The Conservative Caucus

David N. Bossie


Citizens United

Rick Scarborough


Recover America Now

Mat Staver


Liberty Counsel Action

Mike Davis

Founder and President

Article III Project (A3P)

Kielle C. Horton


The Lindsey Foundation

Tim Macy


Gun Owners of America

Rod D. Martin

Founder and CEO

The Martin Organization, Inc.

Christina Murphy Lusk


The Martin Foundation

Guillermo J. Aragon

Chief Financial Officer

Martin Imaging, Inc.

Haley E. Martin

Past President

The Martin Foundation

Robert Keith Fischer

Meeting Coordinator

Conservatives of Faith

Rev. Frank Pavone

National Director

Priests for Life

Jon Schweppe

Director of Policy and Government Affairs, American Principles Project

James L. Martin


60 Plus Association

Kay R. Daly


Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Augusta Petrone

Iowa Co-Chairman for

Reagan/Bush '84

Seton Motley


Less Government

Judson Phillips


Tea Party Nation

Andresen Blom


Hawaiian Values

Don Woodsmall


Arromid, LLC

Amapola Hansberger

Founder and President

Legal Immigrants for America

Joan Holt Lindsey


Lindsey Communications

Nancy Schulze

Founder, President

RCW Speakers

Christopher Malagisi

Executive Director of Outreach

Hillsdale College

Myron Ebell

Director, Center for Energy and Environment, Competitive Enterprise Institute

The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell


The Leadership Institute

L. Brent Bozell, III

Founder and President

Media Research Center

Wesley Denton

Chief Operating Officer

Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell


Constitutional Congress, Inc.

The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel

U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)

U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.

Chief Domestic Advisor

President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer


American Values

Elaine Donnelly


Center for Military Readiness

Joseph A. Morris

Partner, Morris & De La Rosa

Former Assistant U.S. Attorney General

Marc Little


Center for Urban Renewal and Education

The Honorable Scott Walker


Young America’s Foundation

The Honorable Sen. Jason Rapert

Founder & President,

National Association of Christian Lawmakers

Lewis K. Uhler

Founder & President

National Tax Limitation Committee

Sherri R. Martin

Executive Vice President

The Martin Organization, Inc.

Lourdes Cosio

Campaign for the American Future

Shawn A. Mitchell

Former National Chaplain,

National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Chad Connelly


Faith Wins

Benjamin R. Case

Ron Pearson

Executive Director

Conservative Victory Fund

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis


60 Plus Association

Terry Schilling


American Principles Project

Melvin Adams


Noah Webster Educational Foundation

Kathleen Patten

President & CEO

American Target Advertising, Inc.

Willes K. Lee

President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Mario Navarro da Costa

Director, Washington Bureau

Tradition, Family, Property

David Haas


Morrison Inc

Tom DeWeese


American Policy Center

Dr. Richard Rounsavelle



The Honorable Mike Hill

Former Member

Florida State House

Penna Dexter


Point of View Radio

  • filibuster

  • Charles Schumer

  • senate majority

  • Joe Manchin

  • Kyrsten Sinema

  • Mitch McConnell

  • Trump nominees

  • Biden appointments

  • Budget reconciliation

165 views0 comments


bottom of page